Kindergarten

Faith and Favor started Kindergarten last month.  To be honest, the jury is still out about how we like it.  But, before I get into that, let’s just talk about how darn cute they are in their uniforms!!!

IMG_0841

School is a massive change and adjustment for any kid, but I honestly think it’s even bigger for Faith and Favor, who are still getting used to life in a family and speaking English.  That said, I’m amazed at what they’ve learned over the last month and the perseverance they show when life gets challenging.  Kids really are astounding.

Faith and Favor are in different classes, which I think has been really good.  Favor’s self confidence has grown tremendously and I think that’s hugely in part to her having some time away from her outspoken sister.  Last year, Favor cried weekly when she was dropped off at preschool, but this year we haven’t had any before school tears.  At first, we had a lot of after school exhaustion tears, but we’ve developed a rhythm and our afternoons are [relatively] stress free.  We do the same thing in the same order every day and they usually do really well with it.  Our ritual is to: change into play clothes, jump on the mini trampolines for one song, eat a snack, and begin homework.  The jumping is great because it gets some of those pent up wiggles out while also releasing endorphins.  We try to make the snack a high-protein snack with some sugar/fruit as well.  This picks them up quickly, but sustains them for awhile.  We tried watching a TV show before homework, but it turned into tears when the show was stopped, so now its a post-homework reward.

IMG_3559

The school (a public Charter) gives a ridiculous amount of homework so we’ve had to make some boundaries there.  The people-pleaser in me really wants the girls to complete their homework every day, but we have to learn to protect the girls’ emotional health over their academic growth, so we’ll stop homework after a certain amount of time, even if it’s not complete yet.  And, let’s be honest, this is Kindergarten.  You’re not supposed to have homework…or really even learn anything.  In my opinion, Kindergarten is for getting used to school!!!

That said, we’re going to press on.  I think there is a lot of growth potential and we have a lot to learn as parents of Kindergartners.  Overall, we’re really thankful that our girls are going to an excellent school that is only 3 minutes from our house.  We love the administration and we’ve seen lots of positive growth and independence in the girls.  Kids are always capable of so much more than we think!

IMG_3518

Rory, Ransom, and I also have a great time on our own.  Two kids are so much more manageable than 4, so I feel like I can actually have a social life now that the girls are in school.  The three of us have a blast together. 🙂

IMG_4430 IMG_4462 IMG_4535

4 thoughts on “Kindergarten

  1. While I agree that kindergarten shouldn’t have homework, the new normal for Kinders is what used to be 1st grade. PreK is the new Kindergarten. I think I prefer half day kindergarten, which is typically frowned upon in the educational world of public school. The afternoon routine you have is perfect, mainly because it is A routine and the girls know what to expect when they get home.Do they have a fall break? Come visit us in Rome!

  2. I saw your post on places to see in Atlanta on Making Home. Thank you for that post! I live in Atlanta (well near hehe, we are abt 30 min from downtown), and Im always looking for places to take the kids. We have 4 boys 🙂 any who, thanks!!

  3. Hi Guys, I’ve been reading your blog(s) for the past hour and a half. I just want to commend the both of you. It’s beyond inspiring; I’m getting teary-eyed just writing this. Just reading this has completely changed my day (though I wasn’t sad). It’s just wonderful to continually be reminded just how wonderful some people truly are. I just started a blogger, though I’ve been blogging on tumblr for almost 2 years (in case you’re wondering how I ran across your blog). Good luck and many blessings.

Thanks for sharing...

