Paper Bunting Tutorial

I love finding creative ways to usher in new things.  Whether it be a new home, a brand new year, a new season, or a new baby, I want to welcome it with expectation and excitement, and usually something crafty.

I had the pleasure of helping to throw a baby shower for a good friend of mine. As a little project during the shower, we made a Prayer Bunting for her son.

IMG_2651

I searched tons of stores for good paper and fabric, but ended up with a booklet of square scrapbooking paper from Target.  I just cut the paper into triangles and left them with a Bible at the shower and asked the guests to write a note, prayer, verse, etc. on the back of the paper at some point during the day.

IMG_2647

IMG_2648

Then…wait for it… I sewed the paper together.  It’s that easy, and yes, you can actually sew paper.

IMG_2644I did a longer length stitch and zero width.  I also made sure not to overlap the triangles so the bunting would be flexible when hung.  (Sorry for the dark iPhone pictures.)

IMG_2645I added a few blank triangles to the bunting as well in case anyone wanted to add to it in the future.IMG_2646

And there you have it.  It’s definitely as easy as it looks and probably doesn’t even require a tutorial.  Cut, write, sew.

IMG_2650

Do you like how awkwardly this is taped to my attic wall (which happens to be missing paint and has instructions for the window AC taped to the wall)?  I need to work on my tutorial photos.  Oh well, you get the point.

Also, make sure you let the mama-to-be know that she is in no way obligated to actually decorate with the bunting. The thought is awesome, but no one likes to cramp their nursery  decorating style.

Thanks for reading!

Thanks for sharing...

